Election Commission of Pakistan on Friday denotified 25 Pakistan Tehrik Insaf (PTI) dissident lawmakers who had voted for Chief Minister Punjab Hamza Shahbaz Sharif earlier last month.

Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja while announcing the reserved judgment said that the dissidents have been unanimously deseated from holding seat of lawmaker.

ECP noted in its verdict that the lawmakers defected from their party by voting for the Chief Minister.

Raja Sagheer Ahmed, Malik Ghulam Rasool Sanga, Muhamamd Ajmal, Aleem Khan, Nazeer Chauhan, Muhammad Amin Zulqarnian, Malik Nauman Langrial, Muhammad Salman, Zawar Warriach, Nazir Ahmed Khan, Fida Hussain, Zahra Batool, Mohammad Tahir, Aisha Nawaz, Sajida Yousaf, Haroon Imran Gill, Uzma Kardar, Malik Asad Ali, Ijaz Masih, Mohammad Sabtain Raza, Mohsin Atta Khan Khosa, Mian Khalid Mehmood, Mehar Mohammad Aslam and Faisal Hayat were among those lawmakers who have been denotified as MPA for defecting.

Talking to reporters, senior PTI leader Asad Umar congratulated the nation on the verdict. He said that this decision closed down a heinous chapter of politics. Mr Umar said that these people spend to enter politics and then to make money.

Hits: 14