PESHAWAR, September 26: Four of the six militants, killed by security forces in Khyber Agency on 14 August, have been identified.

“Three of them belonged to the banned Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan and one to the banned tribal militia Lashkar-e-Islam,” stated Khyber Agency’s Political Agent Mr Shahab Ali Shah while speaking to reporters.

He said the militants had been killed by the security forces in Bara tehsil on 14 August.

“The security forces flagged down a suspicious vehicle to stop for checking, but that did not stop. The forces then opened fire on the vehicle and it exploded,” said the administrator of the agency.

The political agent said the militants were identified as Mr Shahidullah, Mr Jangrez, Mr Shahid Blagai and Mr Raid Khan, wanted in 66 cases to the government.

He said they were involved in the attacks on FC Commandant Sifwat Ghayyur, killing of Superintendent of Police Khurshid and bomb attacks on Kohati church, Shama Cinema, Kabali Police Station, Meena Bazaar, district courts and Pakistan Air Force base in Peshawar.

The political agent said the identification of the militants was done through DNA testing and that their bodies would be handed over to their relatives soon.

Hits: 2