Opposition to submit resolution against chairman senate

PESHAWAR: “The rahbar committee has agreed to remove the Senate chairman. In this regard, resolution will be submitted on July 9,” said Akram Khan Durrani of JUI-F while addressing the media after the Rahbar Committee meeting.

Durrani revealed it was decided, during the meeting, that the opposition will come up with a new name on July 11. The Rahbar Committee has decided to stage country-wide public gatherings to protest the government’s recent decisions. They will also observe a black day on July 25.

The decision in this regard was taken by the 11-member opposition’s Rahbar Committee on Friday. The opposition political parties have accused Senate’s Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani of taking dictation from Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The committee members will write a joint application to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to stop deployment of armed forces in polling stations in merge districts scheduled for July 20. Durrani said that the committee members will be supporting Pakistan People’s Party in the Ghotki’s NA-205 by-election. The opposition committee also appealed to parliament to issue production orders for MNA Mohsin Dawar and PTM leader Ali Wazir.

After the meeting, it was also announced that leader opposition in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assembly and senior leader of JUI-F, Akram Khan Durrani will work as the convener for the Rahbar committee. However, it was also unanimously decided that the convener will be changed after every two months.

The PML-N) was represented by its senior leaders and former interior minister Ahsan Iqbal and former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.  Nayyar Bukhari and Yousaf Raza Gillani are representing the People’s Party in the meeting.

National Party’s Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party’s Usman Kakar, Qaumi Watan Party’s Hashim Babar, ANP’s Mian Iftikhar, Markazi Jamiat-e-Ahle-e-Hadees’s Shafiq Pasrori and Owais Noorani from Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan also attended the meeting.