PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has unveiled the list of candidates for the upcoming elections in tribal districts on Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seats.

The ruling party in the Centre and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has asked its members who have not got the party tickets to take back their nomination papers immediately. Such members have been directed to support the party ticket-holders. Action under the party discipline will be taken against the members who did not support the party nominees for the elections.

According to a statement issued from the Central Secretariat of the PTI, the candidates who have got tickets have been directed to reach the central secretariat to collect their tickets.

The PTI announced that Anwar Zeb will contest election from PK-100 Bajaur, Ajmal Khan will contest from PK-101 and Hameedur Rehman will contest polls from PK-102, the third constituency of Bajaur.

From Mohmand tribal district, Reham Shah will contest election from PK-103, while Muhammad Israr will contest election from PK-104. For three constituencies of Khyber tribal districts, namely PK-105, PK-105 and PK-107, Shahid Hussain, Amir Muhammad Khan and Muhammad Zubair will contest polls with the PTI ticket.

From Kurram tribal district, Shahid Khan will contest election from PK-108 and Syed Iqbal will contest from PK-109. Hanif Hussain will contest polls from PK-110 in Orakzai tribal district.

Muhammad Iqbal, Orangzeb and Afsar Jan will contest from PK-111, PK-112, PK-113 constituencies of North Waziristan, while Naseerullah will contest from PK-114 of South Waziristan. Abdur Rehman will contest polls from PK-115, FR.

Other mainstream political parties shave already announced their candidates for the provincial polls in tribal districts scheduled to be held on July 2 for which a schedule has been released by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). Currently, elections are being held on 16 seats of the KP Assembly from tribal districts. A tough contest is expected among the candidates of the PTI, Jamaat-e-Islami, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl, Awami National Party and independent candidates backed by the Pakhtun Tahaffuz Movement.

Although the PTI has established a strong base in the merged districts due to frequent visits by Prime Minister Imran Khan and other provincial cabinet ministers to the area, but political observers believe that it will not be a smooth sailing for the ruling party.