The KP Chief Minister, Mr Pervez Khattak. – A file photo

PESHAWAR, August 19: While the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders and activists are protesting in the federal capital Islamabad to oust the federal government led by Prime Minister Mr Nawaz Sharif, opposition members in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly have submitted vote of no-confidence against the PTI’s Chief Minister, Mr Pervez Khattak.

Forty-six of the assembly signed the requisition, submitted by Mr Sikander Sharpao, Mr Sardar Hussain Babak, Mr Lutf-ur-Rehman and Mr Arbab Akbar Hayat.

The lawmakers said the chief minister had lost their trust and that he did not have any authority to stay in the office now.

On 18 August, the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf members of the National and provincial assemblies of Sindh, Balochistan and Punjab decided to resign their seats. The PTI members, who are ruling Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, are yet to decide about whether to resign the provincial assembly or not.

After the no-confidence vote, the chief minister has lost his authority to dissolve the assembly. On the other hand, Mr Pervez Khattak says he did not have any intention to dissolve the assembly but that he would follow the guidelines of Mr Imran Khan in this regard.

Hits: 10